Today I went to get a link to all high-res files from a gallery, so I clicked "Download All". What I wanted was a link to a ZIP file that I can share with people. Instead, it started downloading immediately. While this is handy sometimes, I usually just want the link so I can share it. Is that method now unavailable?
This is actually not a feature change. It is part of the default behavior. The link to the zip file we send in the first email after you request the download all is good for 2 weeks unless you add photos to the gallery. If you request the download all link again during those 2 weeks the system will start the download immediately. If you have uploaded files, it will send you a new link to a new zip file.
More information can be found here: Backups - Download all photos in a gallery